Eggplant, Tomato & Green Onion Curry from Vij’s Veganized!!! Oh the love of food!

Eggplant, Tomato & Green Onion Curry from Vij's Veganized!!!  Oh the love of food!

When I chose to stop eating dairy and all other animal by-products a few years ago I said goodbye to my Vij’s cookbook and therefore one of my favorite dishes. With a vegan cooking badge firmly sewn to my proverbial girl guide sash I attempted to veganize my favorite Vij’s dish and succeeded smashingly!!!!

Ingredients:

4 servings

8 stalks green onion
1 cup full fat coconut milk
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tbsp Mexican chili powder
1 tsp turmeric
1/8-1 tsp ground cayenne pepper (depending on how hot your cayenne is and your preference to spice)
1 eggplant cut into 1 inch cubes (salted, sweated for a 5-10 minutes and rinsed)
2 cups chopped organic tomatoes
1/8 cup grapeseed oil

Directions:

Chop green parts of green onion into 3/4″ long pieces and white parts into 1/4″ pieces. Set aside.
In a large mixing bowl add coconut milk, mix in salt, apple cider vinegar and all spices. Add onions, eggplant and tomato and stir to coat well.
Heat oil in large skillet on medium high for 45 seconds. Pour curry into skillet and saute for a few minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring at 5 minute mark. Turn off heat and remove lid if you are not going to eat immediate or eggplant will overcook and become mushy. Serve with basmati rice or indian bread.

2 responses to “Eggplant, Tomato & Green Onion Curry from Vij’s Veganized!!! Oh the love of food!

  1. Thanks for the great suggestion. I will be trying this soon and let you know what I think. Thanks again, you’re sweet. Quesnel shopper!

    • My pleasure!! I love talking about vegetables and what to do with them and how they’re good for you 🙂 Thanks for checking out the recipe, its truly one of my favorites and I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

