Yam Potato Black Bean Taco Salad

Yam Potato Black Bean Taco Salad

I guess I can’t blame people for associating sunshine and Mexican food and asking me when I’m starting up my business again when even I keep cooking up Mexican dishes.

My partner and I operate a Mexican food truck in our little home town. Here is a recipe that you won’t find at our truck as this is fully vegan.

makes 3 generous servings

Lime Cilantro Hemp Dressing:

1/3 c hemp seeds
1 whole lime without rind
1 generous handful fresh cilantro (stems too)
4 T olive oil
water

–add all ingredients to food processor (I use a Magic Bullet) and blend till creamy. Use to 1/8 cup of water to reach desired consistency.

Yam Potato Bean’ness:

1 large yam
3 small potatoes
1/2 medium onion diced
1 t chipotle chili powder or puree
1 T taco seasoning or chili powder
1 t cumin
2 minced cloves garlic
1 large can black beans (or 1 cup dried and cooked)
salt to taste

–cube potatoes and yam and saute in grapeseed oil over medium high heat. Cook until just tender. Add onion and cook till translucent. Add spices and garlic and beans and heat thoroughly.

Salad Fixings:

Mixed greens, halved cherry tomatoes, 1-2 avocados cubed and sprinkled with cumin, lime juice and salt, organic corn kernels, pickled or fresh jalapeños, chopped fresh cilantro, organic tortilla chips.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

